Sir Syed Global Scholar Award(Previously Sir Syed Emerging Scholar Award)

You are Here: Tweet, Like, Share, Comment, Subscribe…be the Voice of Free Press!

Copy Edited By Adam Rizvi, The India Observer, TIO: Results of SSGSA for 2024-25 (Twenty-eight students from Aligarh Muslim University have been honored with the prestigious Sir Syed Global Scholar Award) June 25, 2024 (Boston, US).

The Sir Syed Education Society of North America, a US-based 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization since 2006, proudly announces the selection of 28 outstanding students and alumni from Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) for the esteemed Sir Syed Global Scholar Award (SSGSA) for the academic session 2024-25.

This year, the SSGSA program received an impressive number of exceptional applications from a diverse range of faculties, including Arts, Commerce, Humanities, Law, Science, Medicine, Life Sciences, and Engineering & Technology. Each application underwent a rigorous evaluation process, meticulously reviewed by a panel of independent experts in the respective fields of the applicants. Following this thorough evaluation, around 70 exceptional candidates were shortlisted for the final round of online interviews.

Also Read, Tweet & Share: Remembering Sir Syed Ahmad Khan on his Birth Anniversary : A True Champion of the Educational and Social Renaissance of Indian Muslims!

Dr. Sajad Shiekh and Mr. Sachin Gupta, past beneficiaries and current co-chairs of the SSGSA program, extended their heartfelt congratulations to the awardees. They commented, “The quality and competitiveness of the applications have been truly impressive and continue to improve each year. This fills us with immense pride in our alma mater and the Alig community. While our limited financial resources have constrained the number of recipients, we encourage the AMU fraternity to step forward and provide the essential financial support necessary to expand the program’s reach in the coming years. We would also like to express our gratitude to Prof. Naima Khatoon (Vice-Chancellor, AMU), Prof. M. M. Sufyan Beg (Chairman, AMU Alumni Affairs Committee), and Mr. Omar Peerzada (Public Relations Officer, AMU) for their invaluable assistance in facilitating SSGSA activities on campus. Additionally, we extend our sincere appreciation to the advisory board members, application reviewers, interviewers, mentors, volunteers, donors, and well-wishers for their unwavering support over the years. Through their contributions, more than 165 SSGSA scholars have established themselves in over 120 universities across more than 21 countries.”

Also Read, Tweet & Share: Empowering Students: SSGSA Seminar on Higher Education Abroad

The selection process meticulously evaluated various criteria, including academic performance, research or work experience, internships, as well as curricular and extracurricular activities. A total of 13 different panels,
composed of SSGSA team members from around the world and esteemed experts from academia and industry, thoroughly assessed the shortlisted candidates over two days. The interview panel members included: Dr. Abhishek Royal (World Health Organization, Delhi), Dr. Abu Hassan (Dow Chemicals, New York), Prof. Aftab Ahmad (University of Alabama, Alabama), Dr. Ahsan Muneer (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Massachusetts), Dr. Ashok Kumar Mocherla (Indian Institute of Technology-Indore, Madhya Pradesh), Prof. Asad Ullah Khan (Aligarh Muslim University, Uttar Pradesh), Prof. Bushra Sabri (Johns Hopkins University, Maryland), Dr. Farhan Ahmed (Invista. Georgia), Dr. Islahuddin Khan (University of Illinois, Chicago), Dr.
Israr Ahmad (University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin), Dr. Mohammad Saleem Dar (National Cancer Institute, Maryland),

Also Read, Tweet & Share: Robbing the Minority Character of AMU will impact Muslims’ education in India

Prof. Nahar Sultana (Ohio State University, Ohio), Dr. Naushad Khan Ghilzai (Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, Pennsylvania), Prof. Nawab Hamid (Boston University, Massachusetts), Dr. Ruchi Dana (Duluth Medical Technologies Inc., Delaware), Prof. Samina Salim (University of Houston, Texas), Dr. Sanjay Jain (Salem State University, Massachusetts), Prof. Sarim Rehman (Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Guwahati), Prof. (retd.) Shakir Husain (Youngstown State University, Ohio), Prof. Suhail Sabir (Aligarh Muslim University, Uttar Pradesh), Dr. Syed Murtaza Abbas (Dassault Systems, Texas), Prof. Tahir Hussain (University of Houston, Texas), Dr. Vijay Kumar (Massachusetts Institute of Technology,  Massachusetts), Dr. Wasikul Islam University of Wisconsin Madison, Wisconsin), Dr. Yousuf Ali (Florida A&M University, Florida), and Dr. Zafeer Ahmad (ZA Consulting, Illinois).

Also Read, Tweet & Share: Journey from Aligarh to Moon- Chandrayaan-3

All recipients of the esteemed SSGSA scholarship will receive financial support and personalized mentorship to guide them through the application process for higher education abroad. The SSGSA scholars will receive assistance for required standardized tests such as GRE/GMAT and TOEFL/IELTS, as well as coverage of university application fees for up to five universities of their choice.

Furthermore, the Sir Syed Education Society of North America remains dedicated to nurturing the talent and potential of all applicants who did not secure the award. The organization will provide mentorship and
guidance to these individuals, ensuring that they receive the necessary support to pursue their academic goals and excel in their chosen fields.

Also Read, Tweet & Share: Does AMU suffer because its middle name is ‘Muslim’?

The list of the selected 28 SSGSA scholars for the academic session 2024-25, in alphabetical order along with their faculty/departmental affiliation, is as follows:

Executive Committee: Dr. Sajad Shiekh(Co-chair), Mr. Sachin Gupta(Co-chair), Mr. Syed Ali Rizvi, Dr. Saif Sheikh, Dr. Rehan Baqri and Dr. Shaida Andrabi

Operations Team:

Mr. Mohammad Irfan, Mr. Ahmad Faraz Badar, Mr.Himanshu Varandani, Dr. Sabahuddin Ahmad, Ms. Rabia Omar, Mr. Ful Hossain Sk, Ms. Mariyam Abbas, Ms. Samina Irshad Ansari, Mr. Mohd Azhar, Mr. Hasan Ansari, Mr. Pradeep Kumar, Mr. Burhani Taher Saifuddin, Mr.Danish Alam, Mr. Faisal Bashir Wani and Ms. Amna Jalali.

Awardee Faculty/Department:

Afif Khan/Law, Ahmed Jawed Hassan/ Biotechnology, Alvia Farheen/ Zoology, Amad Ashraf Ansari /Chemistry, Atifa Aqueel/ Electronics Engineering, Ayan Ahmad/ Geology, Ayesha Fatima/ Industrial Chemistry
Fazila Sartaj/ Chemistry, Mizna Ahmed/ Chemistry, Mohammad Adnaan/ Computer Engineering, Mohammad Sabeel/ Agricultural Science, Mohammad Shehpar/ Physics, Mohd. Kamran Khan/ Industrial Chemistry, Mohd. Saalim Badar/ Civil Engineering, Nayla Khan Management Studies, Nikhat Parveen/ Biotechnology, Safi Abbas/ Botany, Saim Raza English, Saima Nisar/ Zoology, Samiya Khan Food Science and Technology, Sana Farid/ Sociology, Syed Mikayel/ Electrical Engineering, Taha Bin Tasneem/ Law, Tarab Jawed/ Chemical Engineering, Umar Mohidin/ Political Science, Umm e Kulsoom/ Architecture, Zaid Sifat Electrical/ Engineering and Zehra Naqvi/ Social Work.

Curated and Compiled by Humra Kidwai



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *