Lok Sabha Secretariat releases a booklet of ‘banned words”

You are Here: Tweet, Like, Share, Comment, Subscribe…be the Voice of Free Press!

By  Syed Ali Mujtaba, Copy Edited By Adam Rizvi

New Delhi: Some words and expressions are declared unparliamentary ahead of the Monsoon Session of the Parliament scheduled to start on Monday, July 18, 2022.

Lok Sabha Secretariat has released a booklet with the list of the ‘banned words and phrases which cannot be used by the Parliamentarians and are made ready for their future reference.

The booklet compiled by the Lok Sabha Secretariat has a list of Hindi and English words that cannot be used in Parliament.

Also Read, Tweet & Share: Kerala Ayurvedic Ashram Distances One From Daily Diet Of Dismal News

The Hindi words such as  ‘Shakuni’, ‘taanashahi’, ‘Jaichand’, ‘Khalistani’, ‘vinash purush’, ‘khoon se kheti,’ ‘jumlajeevi’, ‘dohra charitra’, ‘baal buddhi’, ‘kala din’, ‘kala bazaari’, ‘gaddar’, ‘girgit’, ‘ghadiyali ansu’, ‘ahankaar’, and ‘khareed farokht’ are declared as unparliamentary.

The booklet has also listed other Hindi words like ‘dohra Charitra, ‘nautanki’, ‘dhindora peetna’, ‘nikamma’, and ‘behri sarkar’ as unparliamentary expressions that would be expunged if used during debates or otherwise in both the Houses.

Also Read, Tweet & Share: Trigs on Track-Diplomacy Unwound Afghans: Left in the Lurch

Among the English words use of ‘dictatorial’, ‘corrupt’ ‘anarchist’, bloodshed, ”bloody’, ‘betrayed’, ‘ashamed’, ‘abused’, ‘cheated’, ‘goons’ ‘criminal’ and ‘crocodile tears’ Snoopgate’, and others are declared as unparliamentary.

The list of expressions also includes any aspersion made against the Chair in both the Houses in either English or Hindi, which shall be considered as unparliamentary and will be expunged from the records of Parliament.

Also Read, Tweet & Share: PM Modi’s visit to UAE may be plagued by Prophet Controversy

The booklet mentions that some of the keywords may not appear unparliamentary unless read in conjunction with the other expressions spoken during the proceedings.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman and the Lok Sabha Speaker will have the last word in expunging words and expressions.

The booklet says the Rajya Sabha Chairman of the Lok Sabha Speaker will vet the words spoken in the House during the session and unparliamentary words would be expunged by the Chair and would not form part of the Parliament records.

Also Read, Tweet & Share:Indian Americans in Houston protest human rights violations by the Indian government

The booklet has outraged the opposition party leaders who called as a ‘gag order on MPs.’

Senior TMC leader and MP, Derek O’Brien, said; “Now, we will not be allowed to use these basic words while delivering a speech in Parliament but I will use all these words fighting for democracy.”

Priyanka Chaturvedi, Shiv Sena MP in the Rajya Sabha, criticized the booklet saying: “Since speaking these words from the report will be considered unparliamentary, so we are just left with saying; Wah Modiji, Wah! ”

Also Read, Tweet & Share:Glimmering from Shadows: Nikhat Zareen makes India proud!!

Curated and Compiled by Humra Kidwai

Articles written by contributors have different viewpoints. The views expressed in the articles are the author’s own and not necessarily supported by TIO, The India Observer its affiliates, staff, or the management. Our Articles can be reproduced, with the following conditions, (1) No alteration to the content, (2) Visible, full credit is given to the Author & Editor. (3) Citing, The India Observer, TIO. In the case of online or electronic media, a link to the original article must be given. Rules are strictly enforced. Any questions, email the Editor at:

All Copyrights reserved. Please be guided.

Syed Ali Mujtaba

Syed Ali Mujtaba

Syed Ali Mujtaba is a Sr.Journalist, Author based in Chennai, India. Writes frequently for the USA based News Portal, TheIndiaObserver. He is author of the book Soundings on South Asia, New Dawn Press (2005). He can be reached at or TIO, at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *